About Us

Representing more than 300 businesses in the vibrant neighborhoods of Brooklyn Heights, Boerum Hill and Cobble Hill, the Atlantic Avenue Business Improvement District (AABID) is dedicated to promoting the long-term economic development of Atlantic Avenue from Fourth Avenue to the Waterfront. We strive to maintain a thriving corridor that attracts residents and visitors to an array of shopping, dining and nightlife while preserving the Avenue’s rich history and diverse character.

The AABID was established in September 2011 after overwhelming support from stakeholders, Community Boards 2 and 6, and various City Council committees and City agencies. Our By-Laws overview our organization’s rules, regulations, and processes.

AABID services are funded through a special tax assessment collected by the city from property owners intended for reinvestment in our commercial corridor. Our core services include:

  • marketing and events promotion
  • streetscape, sanitation and horticulture
  • advocacy and resources

Our Leadership

The AABID Board comprises community leaders with expertise in a wide range of areas, including marketing, nonprofit management, retail, technology, law, and small business management. The Board meets regularly and is responsible for the organization’s strategic direction and financial health.

Property owners and merchants from the AABID corridor are eligible to serve for a two-year term. Members are elected at an annual meeting open to all stakeholders. The expectations of board directors can be viewed here. Please get in touch with us at info@atlanticavebid.org if you are interested in serving.

Board of Directors
Luca Arrigoni
Sandy Balboza
Sasha Blaug
Anuja Butala
Emily Douglas
Laurie Duncan
Katharine Gilman
Martha Kamber
Marcia Patmos
Katharine Gilman
Evan Vaughan
Paul Schreiber
Cassandra Marshall

Government Officials
Fred Leopold-Hooke, NYC Small Business Services
Brad Lander, NYC Comptroller
Lincoln Restler, NYC Council 33rd District

Antonio Reynoso, Brooklyn Borough President

Non-voting Members
Carol-Ann Church, Brooklyn Community Board 2


Kelly Carroll, Executive Director

Layla Passman, Community Engagement Coordinator



Comments are closed.